Renji and Byakuya

I’ve been working on this Renji and Byakuya drawing for a few days now. For some reason it was much harder to draw this, and it took me much, much longer to sketch and color this, compared to the Ichigo and Rukia drawing. I suspect it was because I set the line width to be too thin in Corel Painter Essentials 4, so I ended up drawing more details.

This is the original art in All Color But The Black that I referred to. I took Renji from the right and Byakuya from the left and combined them to have Renji overlap Byakuya.

Here’s the end result:

 

The hardest part to draw was Renji’s left palm. It took me more than 5 minutes to get that palm right. After messing up the palm a few times, I ended up referring to my own left palm instead. The hardest part to color, on the other hand, were Renji’s shinigami clothes and Byakuya’s right sleeve. I didn’t want to color them the same way the original art was, so I colored it according to my own imagination. Renji’s back came out lighter than I would’ve liked, but it took me a loooong time to put in all that detail, so I left it at that. :p

Drawing this had been really fun! My next project will be Shuuhei and Kira/Renji…I’m still deciding if I should draw Renji again or try Kira. I have a feeling Kira’s hair is going to be a bitch to draw, so I’m hesitating…

~ by huinee on November 18, 2009.

Leave a comment