Preston & Child

So about a week ago I blogged about a collection of books by James Rollins. Today I’m going to present another collection of books that I’ve recently acquired. In fact, I bought the last of them just today.

These books are authored by Douglas Preston and Lincoln Child. I find it highly intriguing that two people can write books together like that. I don’t know who does what or how they collaborate, but based on their website it seems like both of them come up with the story together, then Preston does the writing while Child does the editing.

Like James Rollins, their books consist of a series focusing on the same few characters, and several others which are standalone novels. I’m currently working on the series. The main character is FBI Special Agent Aloysius Pendergast, a man seemingly as eccentric and cunning like Sherlock Holmes and as charming, tech-savy, and dangerous as James Bond. He meditates with monks and recites poetry, moves with a “cat-like” grace, and most interesting of all, he’s described as being extremely fair and has hair so blond it appears almost white. He is also very fond of wearing well-tailored black suits, hand-made leather shoes from London, and owns a Rolls Royce.

The Pendergast series: Relic, Reliquary, Cabinet of Curiosities, Still Life with Crows, Brimstone, Dance of Death, Book of the Dead, Wheel of Darkness, Cemetery Dance, and finally, still fresh in hardcover, Fever Dream.

Another view of the Pendergast series.

The standalone novels are Mount Dragon, Thunderhead, Riptide, and The Ice Limit. I haven’t started reading any of them yet, so I don’t know how I might like them.

Compared to James Rollins, I prefer Preston & Child’s writing style. While James Rollin’s books are rich with details from extensive research in many different fields, Preston & Child’s books are smooth, understated, and witty.

And now, if you’ll excuse me, I’d like to get back to page 404 of Brimstone.

~ by huinee on June 12, 2010.

Leave a comment